BEEN INJURED ON THE JOB?
WE HANDLE NON SUBCRIBER CLAIMS
IS YOUR EMPLOYER COVERING YOUR TREATMENT?
WE WILL SEEK MEDICAL ATTENTION FOR YOU
WHEN THE UNEXPECTED HAPPENS,
WE HELP YOU NAVIGATE THE LEGAL FIELD
WHEN YOUR INJURED ON THE JOB AND DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO. SIMPLY PICK UP THE PHONE AND CALL US FOR A FREE CONSULTATION
Follow the link below for more information regarding the Texas Department of Insurance Workers Compensation program.
SUBCRIBERS VERSUS NON-SUBCRIBERS
In Texas the Workers Compensation program is run by Texas Department of Insurance- Department of Workers Compensation. It is a form of insurance providing wage replacement and medical benefits to employees injured in the course of employment, in exchange for mandatory relinquishment of the employees right to sue his or her employer for the tort of negligence.
Employers can choose to carry workers' compensation coverage through a licensed insurance company or they may choose to self insure. If an employer is covered, the employee's only recourse for benefits and treatment is through the worker's compensation program.
Texas law does not require employers to carry worker's compensation coverage. An employer who opts out of worker's compensation coverage can be liable for work-related injuries or illnesses and may be sued.
An employee who desires to retain the common-law right of action to recover damages for personal injuries or death shall notify the employer in writing that the employee waives coverage under this subtitle and retains all rights of action under common law.
What to do in case of an injury
Make a report
An employee or person acting on the employees behalf must report the injury to the employer within 30 days from the date of the injury. If the employee does not notify the employer within these 30 days, the employee could lose the right to obtain benefits. Make sure that you or your employer files a claim for compensation with TDI-DWC, immediately after the injury, but no later than one year of the date of the injury.
If were injuries prevent you from performing your or substantially limit some major life activity, request some time off to recover. Contact your HR personnel and make a request for FMLA leave, if eligible. Or make a request to use some of your PTO or Vacation time. Almost keep a written record of your requests and approvals or denials. Use email when possible.
contact a lawyer
The most important thing you could do immediately after an injury is to contact an attorney for assistance. An attorney will be able to determine if your employer has coverage or not and assist you with a possible personal injury case against your employer.
We're here to help
Give us a call, and tell us a little bit about your case. One of legal assistants will be able to tell you whether its something we can help out with or not.